* UCI WorldTour

Author Topic: 2017 rules  (Read 4035 times)

Offline Canto

• All-Star
  • Bonus inPoints: 0
    • :Blank:
    • :USC:
    • :MUD:
    • View Profile
2017 rules
« on: September 08, 2016, 08:30:04 AM »
As this 2016 season nearly over, I would like to suggest an open topic about next year rules.
It is my first year (ok half-year), but I already have one remark about the contract rule.
I found a bit annoying to have some good guys we bet on at the start or during the season, for which we did not invest a lot (so they had only a one year contract), and we can't keep them in our team.
I would suggest to be able to give them a contract extension (limited number of extension per team, only one extension possible per rider, increase of the yearly salary by 150% for example). So I put the idea on the table to see your thoughts about. Thanks

Offline davy duck

• All-Star
    • :AND:
    • View Profile
Re: 2017 rules
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2016, 09:14:46 AM »
I like somewhere your idea.
Butt:
- I think it's difficult to accept that the owners of gaviria, ewan and benoot, extend their contract at 150%. Meaning that they pay next year 50k for them. Perhaps make exceptions for the free youth picks ...
- The whole thing is based on demand vs. supply. But it's indeed regrettable that when you "discover" a rider early in his career and cheap, you don't get the big win the year after when he really breaks through. And in real life, when a rider is out of contract, he will move to the team that pays him the most. We could stay loyal to that idea. So it feels not okay to "force" a rider to stay in your team, while he could make more money elsewhere.

hobbling on the 2 ideas.

Online Garfield

• League Moderator
  • Legend
    • :PHX:
    • :ARS:
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2016, 09:45:04 AM »
I've been thinking about it (and discussing with a bunch of you) for some years now, and these have usually been the conclusions: